surrender/accept order

Rich Skrenta (
Mon, 26 Sep 1994 08:58:49 -0400 (EDT)

Someone has asked for a surrender/accept pair. This seems harmless
enough, and potentially useful. Any comments?


How difficult would it be to implement a SURRENDER command,
coupled with an ACCEPT command? The former would stack one noble with
another noble, as the target noble's prisoner, and deliver all men,
goods, etc. owned by the noble into the possession of the target
noble. The ACCEPT command would make SURRENDER permissible.

Rich asked:
> What would it be used for?

Diplomatic situations, where one side doesn't want to hurt the
other side but wants to make ABSOLUTELY SURE they don't unite with a
stronger force and thus become a threat, perhaps to escort them across
territorial boundaries or somesuch.

So, for example, if you can SURRENDER and ACCEPT a surrender
in time 0. A noble can just do

accept xxx
attack xxx

to initiate a "surrender or die" command. That way, if the
target noble surrenders, he won't be harmed (the attack command will
fail, since the noble is in his stack, and there's no risk to anyone's
health) and if he doesn't, he'll be attacked.

Main Index  |  Olympia  |  Arena  |  PBM FAQ  |  Links